Early Childhood Special Education

Young children ages three through five who have a disability as defined by one of the categories listed below are eligible for preschool services provided through the local school system. In Michigan, the categories of disability include:

  • Speech/Language Impairment

  • Specific Learning Disability

  • Cognitive Impairment

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder

  • Emotional Impairment

  • Traumatic Brain Injury

  • Deaf and Hard of Hearing

  • Visual Impairment

  • Physical Impairment

  • Early Childhood Developmental Delay

  • Severe Multiple Impairment

  • Other Health Impairment