Great Start Logo - Names

Early Childhood Special Education

Young children ages three through five who have a disability as defined by one of the categories listed below are eligible for preschool services provided through the local school system. In Michigan, the categories of disability include:

  • Speech/Language Impairment,
  • Specific Learning Disability,
  • Cognitive Impairment,
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder,
  • Emotional Impairment,
  • Traumatic Brain Injury,
  • Hearing Impairment,
  • Visual Impairment,
  • Physical Impairment,
  • Early Childhood Developmental Delay (ECDD),
  • Severe Multiple Impairment,
  • Other Impairment.